TamsinCakes on Flickr + Adventures in Stabilized Whipped Cream

Want to see more cupcake photos? Now you can! TamsinCakes is now on Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tamsincakes/

There is also now a Flickr “widget” on the right-hand column of the blog (beneath the Twitter feed); check there to see if I’ve added new photos, and then click through to see more!

Adventures in Stabilized Whipped Cream

Light & fluffy Stabilized Whipped Cream Frosting!

Light & fluffy Stabilized Whipped Cream Frosting!

It’s been an exciting week here at TamsinCakes, as I’ve been fiddling and tweaking to perfect my whipped cream frosting. I quickly learned that just using sweetened whipped cream was not going to cut it; after even 30 minutes, the whipped cream would start to deflate and sag. I want my cupcakes to look pretty for longer than that, so I decided I had to find a proper way of stabilizing the whipped cream so it would stay put and not deflate at room temperature.

After doing some research, I discovered (with the help of this recipe) that the key was adding just a touch of gelatine at the end when whipping the cream. This worked wonderfully. The whipped cream came out light and fluffy and without any difference in taste, and it held its shape remarkably well without looking at all stiff.

Happy with my results, I went on to use the stabilized whipped cream frosting (quite a mouthful to say! Let’s call it SWC frosting for short) on my next batch of Hot Cocoa cupcakes. In my eagerness, I just couldn’t wait to frost them, and didn’t cool the cupcakes as long as usual. I think you can guess what’s coming…

The cupcakes looked great. Beautiful, fluffy white whipped cream on top. And then I put them in their carrier to take them to some testers. And all SWC frosting hell broke loose!! The warmth from the cupcakes heated the cream, destroying the gelatine’s hard work and causing the frosting to ever… sooo… sloooowllllyyyyyy…… run down the sides of the cupcakes. I watched it happen, powerless to do anything, and cursing my earlier haste. They still tasted great, but the whipped cream never did set up again, remaining gloopy and messy. These were not fit for my lovely testers, so I kept them for the family (who wolfed them down).

This tragedy *sniff* reminded me that in baking, you simply must be patient no matter how excited you are!! (Not my strong suit, let me tell you.)

Sadly I didn’t get any photos of the SWC disaster (I was too ashamed).

I made a new batch of cupcakes and SWC frosting this morning, and waited long enough this time. 🙂 The result was great!

Stays light and fluffy on the cupcake! :)

Stays light and fluffy on the cupcake! 🙂

Stabilized Whipped Cream Recipe

Ingredients:
1 tsp Gelatine
1/4 cup Hot Water
1 cup Heavy Whipping Cream
3 Tbsp Confectioner’s Sugar
1 1/2 Tbsp Vanilla

Equipment:
Large mixing bowl (glass works well), Electric mixer, Small microwave-safe bowl

Steps:
1) Place mixing bowl & beaters from the electric mixer in the freezer for 15 minutes or so to chill. Chilling the bowl and beaters make the cream whip up faster and with more volume.

2) In the small bowl, combine the gelatine and hot water, stirring well until gelatine dissolves. If it’s not dissolving, pop it in the microwave for 30 seconds or so and then stir again. That should do the trick. Let the gelatine cool to room temperature, about 10 minutes.

3) Combine the cream, sugar and vanilla in the chilled mixing bowl. Whip with the electric mixer on low speed until cream starts to thicken, about a minute.

4) Gradually increase speed up to medium-high. Continue to whip cream until the beaters leave visible (but not lasting) trails in the cream, then add the cooled gelatine slowly, beating continuously.

5) Continue whipping until the cream is light and fluffy and holds soft peaks. Be careful not to over-beat it so the cream doesn’t become lumpy.

You’re done! The SWC should hold its shape and be easy to scoop with a spatula. It can be made a day ahead, and will get even more solid when refrigerated. The SWC can easily be piped onto cakes/cupcakes using a regular decorating bag. 🙂

Have fun!

Published in: on June 5, 2009 at 2:50 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tamsincakes.wordpress.com/2009/06/05/tamsincakes-on-flickr-adventures-in-stabilized-whipped-cream/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. mmmm the wipped cream looks yummy!

    • Dank je wel! Ik ben ook en beetje Nederlands – mein moeder is half Nederlands. Hehe. Sorry, my Dutch is “niet so good”! (Funny how so many words look the same in Dutch and English.)

      Anyway, thanks for your comment!! I just checked out your blog and am excited to compete against you in Iron Cupcake! 😉 Your upside down apple cupcake looked “heel lekker” & I’m looking forward to seeing the chili chocolate one.

  2. […] already posted the recipe for the delicious Whipped Cream Frosting, so I’ve just linked to it here. These would also be delicious topped with some Chocolate […]

  3. […] Stabilized whipped cream […]

  4. […] Recipe Source: Recipe slightly adapted from Alain Ducasse‘s Cooking School in Paris, France (http://www.ecolecuisine-alainducasse.com/). Stabilized whipped cream (http://tamsin-cakes.com/2009/06/05/tamsincakes-on-flickr-adventures-in-s&#8230😉 […]

  5. […] Stabilized whipped cream […]

  6. […] Stabilized whipped cream […]

  7. […] Stabilized Whipped Cream Recipe […]


Leave a Reply

